Am I The Stereotyped Average Indian?

I had always been flown along the path I never chose to go. Though emotionally forceful in fact, but had a positive outcome in all aspects. So positive that I ought to tell other people when they ask, “Yeah, I thought… (so and so) and that is why I did… (so and so). As the turn comes to my heart, I know deep-down that it was not a phenomenon I could control.

My decisions have sometimes made be question myself, “Am I the typical Indian Stereotypic Guy that every Indian parent longs to have?” The answer is ambiguous in reality.

I am not a stereotype, at least not because of my own choices. I want to be an engineer because I have a passion for it, and not because my parents want me to. Instead, they never ever rejected or modified or suggested in any way that I should go for something else or that engineering is not worth it. I do not fall in good terms with Medical Science because I simply do not like it. I have given very deep thoughts in this subject and it feels Greek to me. Trust me, I’d even learn Greek but not pursue Medical Science.

Also read: Dark Deductions: Moments of Thought. Clearer reasons on why software and engineering feels like ‘home’ to me.

By this time, you might have got an idea of me – what I want and about the choices I never made before. Honestly, I find it very normal to be asked by someone why I chose my subject, but find it extremely savage to be told that since something doesn’t yield good salary (ranging between crores per annum), you don’t have a future. Who thought music artists could make so much money a few years ago in my own country? Now, it is very clear, clarifying the meaning of future, that does not depend on the subject, it depends on the person and his efforts.

 

My Inspirations for this Post: Quora.

Lately, I’ve been browsing through my feed to see answers to questions like ‘What is the most Indian thing ever?’ and ‘What is the worst advice/conversation given by/with a random aunt/uncle?’; and I found answers mostly on the ‘engineering and medical’ topic. Most of them were about how parents and neighbours, or even random strangers advise you against following your passions and just qualifying enough for jobs that offer a huge salary. Reading those answers, I felt as if I was one among the engineers-to-be who was being called as stereotyped by the Indians.

 

Leave a Reply

